About SAM

Founded in spring 2014, SAM counts more than 80 members from various research groups at the Department of Materials. The SAM board consists of its president Murielle Schreck, vice president Chia-Jung Yang, VP of finance and IT Tobias Esswein, Viktor Wessely, Vladimir Vojtech, Cameron Boggon, Štefan Stanko, Maria-Nefeli Antonopoulou, and Laura Alvarez Frances.

Next to representing the scientific staff in the Department Conference (Viktor and Murielle) and in the Teaching Commission (Vladimir and Murielle), we regularly organize events for our members and friends to get to know each other and to promote inter-departmental knowledge spillover and cooperation. After a rooftop inauguration apero with self-made ice cream, we have organized BBQs in the bamboo garden, fun poker tournaments, Feuerzangenbowlen and breakfast meetings on job interviews (events).

In addition to more social events for the coming year, we are planning the Materials Colloquium to provide a platform for PhD students, postdoctoral researchers, group leaders and professors to present their work and groups to their colleagues. The first Phd-PostDoc Retreat took place in August 2017, was repeated in June 2018 and July 2019 and will take place again in 2021.

If you want to join SAM, sign up for AVETH! Half of your monthly contribution to AVETH goes to SAM and via us back to you, in the form of social and networking events. If you are interested in becoming a member of the SAM board, just email sam@mat.ethz.ch